Follow our blog  Foundation for Roanoke Valley on Facebook  Follow Foundation for Roanoke Valley on Twitter Donate now to Foundation for Roanoke Valley
Our Board of Governors

Our Mission

Foundation for Roanoke Valley will provide leadership, resources and inspiration
for philanthropy in the communities it serves.

To fulfill the Foundation’s mission, it:

  • Enables donors to carry out their charitable intent through endowment funds
  • Provides responsible stewardship for entrusted funds   
  • Makes creative grants for current and future community needs and opportunities
  • Offers comprehensive services to encourage and advance effective philanthropy
  • Promotes and participates in collaborative efforts to shape a healthy, caring community.


Our Board of Governors

The Foundation’s Board of Governors is comprised of dedicated volunteer leaders who are selected for their knowledge of, and active participation in, the life of the community.  Governors are either recommended by local organizations or are chosen as at-large members.  The full Board meets quarterly, and the Executive Committee meets as needed.


Current Board

Cynthia M. Shelor
John T. Morgan Roofing

Mimi Rainero Coles
Vice-President of Marketing & Business Development
Permatile Concrete Products Co.

Richard G. Bailey, D.V.M.

Botetourt Veterinary Hospital (Retired)

John P. Budd, Jr., CPA
Budd & Company, PLC

Frank G. Carter
President & CEO
Member One Federal Credit Union

Nancy V. Dye, M.D.
Surgeon (retired)

Lauren M. Ellerman
Frith & Ellerman Law Firm, P.C.

William D. Elliot
Davis H. Elliot Company, Inc.

Tammy Finley
Senior Vice President
Advance Auto Parts

Susan Lancaster
Community Volunteer

Stephen W. Lemon
Martin, Hopkins, and Lemon, P.C.

George A. Levicki, D.D.S.
CEO & President, Delta Dental of Virginia, Inc.

Jim McAden
Balzer & Associates

Stephen A. Musselwhite
Musselwhite & Associates

Debbie Oehlschlaeger
Plunkett & Oehlschlaeger, PLC

Randall R. Rhea, M.D.
Carilion Clinic Family Practice

Cleo Sims
Community Volunteer

Philip Trompeter
Roanoke County Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court Judge (Retired)

Leonard Wheeler
Mel Wheeler, Inc.



Governors Emeriti

Nancy Howell Agee
Robert A. Archer
Mary K. Bickford
Rita D. Bishop, Ed.D
R. Steve Blanks

Abney S. Boxley, III

Robert L. Bradshaw, Jr.

Dorothy S. Clifton
Nan L. Coleman
Sallye T. Coleman
Sally Fishburn Crockett*
Walter M. Dixon, Jr.
Lucy Ellett
Edwin R. Feinour

Joy D. Frantz
Jan B. Garrett
Maryellen F. Goodlatte
Mason Haynesworth
James N. Hinson
Talfourd H. Kemper
Robert C. Lawson, Jr.
James B. Lee
Barbara B. Lemon
Olin R. Melchionna, Jr.
Barton W. Morris, Jr.*
Julien H. Meyer, Jr., M.D.*
William A. Nash
Kathryn Krisch Oelschlager


J. Lee E. Osborne
Peter A. Ostaseski
John C. Parrott, II
Douglas E. Pierce, M.D.
Bittle W. Porterfield, III
Charlotte K. Porterfield
Harry S. Rhodes
Frank W. Rogers, III
Donald G. Smith
James G. Snead, M.D.*
Susan K. Still
Kenneth D. Tuck, M.D.
Michael E. Warner*
John B. Williamson, III



Past Governors

The Foundation wishes to recognize the contributions made by governors who have served in
previous years and thank them for their leadership:

Joseph W. Beury
Robert E. Bryant
Carter L. Burgess*
Melinda T. Chitwood
Sigmund E. Davidson
William R. Davis
Russ Ellis
Norman D. Fintel
Carolyn Alley Fleming
Robert Fralin
John R. Francis, Jr.

Clydenne R. Glenn*
David R. Goode
Lucian Y. Grove
W. William Gust
Leigh B. Hanes, Jr.
James W. Harkness
Jerry Higginbotham*
Jesse E. Kent
Heidi F. Krisch
Cynthia D. Lawrence
Angelica Lloyd Light

Robert P. Martin
Colin C. Murchison
Jess Newbern, III
Frank W. Rogers, Jr.*
D. Thomas Royster, Jr.
Alexander I. Saunders
Garnett E. Smith
Glenn O. Thornhill, Jr.
Jim Wade
Bill F. Williams
Jack F. Wright, Jr.*